Alizé Cornet never hesitates to go to the front - and that's why we like him. The French player defended Monday the Japanese Aldila Sutjiadi-Miyu Kato, disqualified the day before in the 8th doubles final for unintentionally sending a ball on the head of a collector. The organization of Roland-Garros was far too severe in this case, according to her.

Cornet does not dispute that there must be a sanction, but the disqualification + fine + prize money and points earned on the tournament withdrawn, it may be a bit much. The Frenchwoman first sent a message of support to her colleague, who apologized to the ball catcher, her doubles teammate Aldila Sutjiadi, her team and the spectators "for this unfortunate incident". "Foolish decision. I feel sorry for you. But a lot of players (except Marie and Sara, obviously) support you," Cornet wrote.

🎾 #RolandGarros | Funny scene on Court 14: the pair Miyu Kato/Aldila Sutjiadi was disqualified after the former unintentionally sent a bullet into the head of a collector.

▶ Follow the matches live 👉

— francetvsport (@francetvsport) June 4, 2023

Access to this content has been blocked in order to respect your choice of consent

By clicking on "I ACCEPT", you accept the deposit of cookies by external services and will thus have access to the content of our partners


And to better pay 20 Minutes, do not hesitate to accept all cookies, even for one day only, via our button "I accept for today" in the banner below.

More information on the Cookie Policy page.

Then, in a press conference following her double loss with Diane Parry in the 8th final, she elaborated on her statement: "It's unfair, it's a bad decision. I hope the tournament will give him his money back. The opposite would be crazy. It shouldn't have happened. We have reached a peak of injustice. Especially Kato! She almost apologizes for living. To be disqualified for that... When I think about it, it makes me want to break everything. She was crying... I hate injustice. The referee really made a huge mistake. He was influenced by the other players. The tournament is expected to apologize to Kato. They disqualified her! The strongest thing you can do. A fine, ok, but a disqualification in the middle of a match... »

The Frenchwoman resents Kato's opponents, Marie Bouzkova and Sara Sorribes Tormo, who did not try to pretend to be pained by the situation, and the match referee for making his decision too quickly. "It is the referee who must be disqualified (...). He rotted the tournament of a girl who is nickel all year, all the time, said Cornet. And he doesn't pay a fine, even though he made a huge mistake? She threw a bullet at someone, unintentionally. The video, you can watch it 100 times, there is no doubt. Why don't they use video in such a case? »

Our Roland-Garros file

The Frenchwoman assured that she would try to go talk to Roland's organizers to defend Kato's cause. "I'm going to go see them. It got me too drunk! Tell them, "I hope you're not going to take away his prize money." Alizé president.

  • Roland-Garros 2023
  • Tennis
  • Trade wind Cornet
  • Sport